Jim Bray

Charities

Force Cancer Charity
FORCE is a Devon based charity committed to people whose lives are affected by cancer. Over the last 29 years FORCE has raised over £12 million to help fund local cancer services. Why local? Simply because anyone diagnosed with cancer deserves the best possible treatment and professional support close to home. Although FORCE was originally set up in 1987 to fund local research, (Friends of the Oncology and Radiotherapy Centre Exeter); the Charity has responded to the changing needs of people affected by cancer. In 2004 we opened a purpose built Cancer Support and Information Centre in the grounds of the Royal Devon & Exeter Hospital. The Centre offers a relaxing supportive environment where people can access a full range of advice, support and information under one roof. In addition to supportive care, and the purchase of important equipment to improve treatment, FORCE remains committed to local cancer research. FORCE funds research within the Peninsula Medical School which is currently focused on lung and ovarian cancers. Lung cancer is the second most common cancer in the UK and it can spread to the brain as a secondary tumour. Our research is focused on understanding how this cancer spreads through the behaviour of certain cells. Ovarian cancer is notoriously difficult to treat because the early stages of the disease are relatively symptom-free and patients are often not diagnosed until the cancer has spread. The actual processes involved in the spread of ovarian cancer are not really understood and FORCE funded research is hoping to change this. This year our funding requirements will top £1.25 million - all of this sum will be raised through voluntary contributions. In an increasingly global world, FORCE focuses on local people, offering help and support, face to face. If you would like to learn more about the work of FORCE please call 01392 402875.
Northern Devon Healthcare NHS Trust Charitable Fund
The Northern Devon Healthcare Trust Charitable Fund is an independent registered charity, no. 1051463 which supports the work of the Northern Devon Healthcare NHS Trust. Your efforts, support, and donations make a huge difference for patients; improving the hospital environment, buying state-of-the-art medical equipment and helping us to go way beyond the NHS standard. We support causes across the Trust, but currently our main focus is on raising funds for the development of a new Chemotherapy and Day Treatment Unit. The unit will be situated at the North Devon District Hospital in Barnstaple and treat newly 5000 patients yearly.

Twitter






Please note Virgin Money Giving isn't responsible for the content fundraisers post on their pages, but if you see something you feel is offensive or inappropriate, please let us know and we'll look into it.

Jim's Journey

Fundraiser: 
Jim Bray

My page: http://uk.virginmoneygiving.com/JimsJourney

Jim Bray, a former communications manager for the NHS in Devon, walked 710 miles along the entire South West Coast Path this summer to raise money for the Seamoor Unit and Exeter-based cancer charity FORCE.

Jim left his job with the NHS in May to take up the eight-week challenge, entitled Jim’s Journey.

He set off from Minehead in Somerset on Friday 10 June and climbed more than 115,000 feet (nearly four times the height of Mount Everest), crossed 288 bridges, caught 14 ferries, passed around 3,500 coast path signs and went up or down over 30,000 steps before reaching the finish at Poole Harbour in Dorset on Thursday 4 August.

The 56-day expedition included 52 days of walking, at an average of nearly 14 miles a day, and four rest days.

Jim stayed in B&Bs, inns and hotels and funded the trip himself, enabling all money raised to be split 50-50 between the two charities.

He charted his journey with a daily photo diary on Facebook.

Main Sponsor – Huntsham Court

Jim would like to thank Huntsham Court, the private hire country house near Tiverton, for kindly becoming the Main Sponsor of Jim's Journey.

Huntsham Court has made a significant donation to FORCE and Over and Above to help enhance services for local cancer patients and their families and has offered to host a fundraising event after the walk.

The venue is assisting as part of its Huntsham Hotspots initiative to aid local charities and unregistered charitable causes in the South West.

For more information, visit www.huntshamcourt.co.uk/hotspots or call 01398 361759.

Business Partners

Jim would like to thank the following businesses for kindly agreeing to sponsor Jim’s Journey.

As a Business Buddy, they have all made a direct financial contribution to FORCE and Over and Above to help enhance services for local cancer patients and their families.

If you’re interested in becoming a Business Buddy, please call Jim on 07425 133606 or e-mail him at jims.journey@outlook.com.

Business Buddies

James Pryce Tractors (Tiverton), http://jprycetractors.co.uk

Travis Perkins (Tiverton), www.travisperkins.co.uk/branch/3036

Gregory Distribution Ltd (Cullompton), www.gdl.uk.com

Frobishers Juices (Exeter), http://frobishers.com

Cult Pens (Tiverton), www.cultpens.com

Vigo Ltd (Dunkeswell), www.vigoltd.com

 

Accommodation Partners

Jim would like to thank the following hotels, inns and B&B providers for kindly sponsoring Jim’s Journey by offering him either free or discounted accommodation.

Some Accommodation Partners even offered to provide food, drinks or laundry services!

If you’re thinking of having a break near the South West coast in the near future, please consider supporting these Gold, Silver and Bronze Sponsors.

Gold Sponsors

Lynton (Day 2), Rockvale, www.rockvalelynton.com

Combe Martin (Day 3), Mellstock House, www.mellstockhouse.co.uk

Woolacombe (Day 4), The Rocks Hotel, www.therockshotel.co.uk

Braunton (Day 5), Burrows B&B, www.theburrowsbandb.co.uk

Instow (Day 6), The Pines at Eastleigh, www.thepinesateastleigh.co.uk

Clovelly (Day 8), Southdown Cottage, http://www.hartlandpeninsula.co.uk/hotels-inns-bed-breakfast/southdown-cottage.html

Clovelly (Day 9), The Old Police House, www.clovellybandb.co.uk

Bude (Days 10 and 11), The Beach at Bude, www.thebeachatbude.co.uk

Tintagel (Day 13), The Port William Inn, www.theportwilliam.co.uk

Port Isaac (Day 14), Lane End Farm, www.laneendcornwall.co.uk

Padstow (Day 15), Armsyde B&B, www.armsydebandbpadstow.co.uk

Newquay (Day 17), BEST WESTERN Porth Veor Manor Hotel, www.porthveormanor.com

Portreath (Day 19), The Portreath Arms, www.theportreatharms.co.uk

St Ives (Day 20), The Garrack Hotel, http://garrack.com

St Ives (Day 21), Boskerris Hotel, www.boskerrishotel.co.uk

St Ives (Day 22), Regent Hotel, www.regenthotel.com

Pendeen (Day 23), The Old Chapel, https://www.airbnb.co.uk/rooms/6757324

Marazion (Day 26), The Trevelyan Arms, www.trevelyanarms.co.uk

The Lizard (Day 28), Enoch Vean, http://enochveanlizard.co.uk

Coverack (Day 29), Boak House, https://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Hotel_Review-g1207910-d2285628-Reviews-Boak_House-Coverack_Cornwall_England.html

Helford Passage (Day 30), Budock Vean Hotel, www.budockvean.co.uk

Falmouth (Day 31), The Royal Duchy Hotel, www.royalduchy.co.uk

Portloe (Day 32), Carradale, www.carradale-bnb.co.uk

Mevagissey (Day 33), Stone’s Throw Cottage, www.stones-throw-cottage-mevagissey.com

Par (Day 34), The Par Inn, www.parinn.co.uk

Polperro (Days 35 and 36), The Cottles B&B and Holiday Apartments, www.cottles-polperro.co.uk

Portwrinkle (Day 37), The Bungalow, https://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Hotel_Review-g1936958-d3318489-Reviews-The_Bungalow-Portwrinkle_Cornwall_England.html

Salcombe (Day 41), Victoria Inn, www.victoriainn-salcombe.co.uk

Stokenham (Day 42), Stokenham House, www.stokenhamhouse.co.uk

Babbacombe (Day 45), Babbacombe Bay Hotel, www.babbacombebayhotel.co.uk

Sidmouth (Day 48), The Mount Pleasant Hotel, www.mountpleasant-hotel.co.uk

Seaton (Day 49), Mariners, www.marinershotelseaton.co.uk

Chideock (Day 50), Broadlands, www.broadlandschideock.co.uk

Abbotsbury (Day 51), Peach’s, www.abbotsburybandb.co.uk

Weymouth (Days 52 and 53), B+B Weymouth, www.bb-weymouth.com

West Lulworth (Day 54), Burngate Farm, www.burngatefarm.co.uk

Langton Matravers (Day 55), Langton Manor Farmhouse, www.langtonmanorfarmhouse.co.uk

Silver Sponsors

Westward Ho! (Day 7), Culloden House, www.culloden-house.co.uk

Perranporth (Day 18), Atlantic View Hotel, www.atlanticviewhotel.co.uk

Accommodation Partners

Porlock (Day 1), Sea View B&B, www.seaviewporlock.co.uk

St Merryn (Day 16), Farmers Arms, www.farmersarmscornwall.co.uk

Noss Mayo (Day 39), Worswell Barton, www.worswellbarton.co.uk

Recent donors

19.12.16 Hi Jim Happy shared memories of the amazing South West Coast Path and Nab of Lane End Farm, Port Isaac. Well done you. All the best Adrian

18.11.16 money raised by Musbury Primary School pupils sponsored walk

08.09.16 You did it! now for that well deserved pint! Well done.

25.08.16 Well done Jim on your courage and achievement. Have you thought about walking the camino de Santiago?

10.08.16 kind regards NSL.

05.08.16 Well done Jim, top-notch effort!!

05.08.16 Well done --- super effort

04.08.16

04.08.16 Well done, amazing achievement. Thanks for sharing your journey.

04.08.16 Well done Jim, hope to see you this afternoon at the SW marker!

01.08.16 ALMOST THERE!!! and a cracking job for amazing causes! The team at Huntsham Court.

29.07.16 Well done Jim

25.07.16 Hi Jim, We met over breakfast at Carradene in Portloe - I was just walking 10% of your distance along the path. Hope it's still going well for you now the end is in sight!

13.07.16 Well done, Jim!

10.07.16 Well done Jim.

09.07.16 Hey buddy, A very impressive charity event; good work! Hope your are well. Cheers Geoff

07.07.16 Well done and good luck. I struggle to get from the 3rd green to the 4th tee!

03.07.16 Good work Jim!

02.07.16

02.07.16 Well done Jim, best foot forward!

28.06.16

24.06.16 Enjoy the views Jim.

20.06.16 Your Dad flagged up your charitable efforts...well done and worthy causes

17.06.16 Go Jim. teamapples member and legend.

17.06.16 Well done Jim, you are doing great. You have completed one of my favourite stretches!

£8,450.00

Running total

Target:
£5,000.00
Total raised incl. Gift Aid:
£9,025.63
Total donors:
43
Last donor:
Adrian Beales
19.12.16  
Offline fundraising:
£5,847.25