The Comedy School Charitable Trust

Find out more

Charity details

Registered address
14-15 Gloucester Gate,London

020 7486 1844

Email us

Visit our website

Charity number


The Comedy School Charitable Trust (registered number 1120951) was set up in 2006 for the benefit of individuals who are disadvantaged, socially excluded or at risk of exclusion, or who have offended or are at risk of offending. The Comedy School Charitable Trust gives grants to The Comedy School Limited to help carry out its charitable objectives. We have developed governance through the recruitment of  trustees Dal Babu, Kevin Chapman, Anya Noakes, Neil Mullarkey, Judith Jacob and Paulette Randall.

The Comedy School Charitable Trust Patrons are Paul Whitehouse, Andi Osho & Sean Lock.

The Comedy School Limited is the only arts organisation of its kind in the UK which works with comedy in many different settings. It provides transformative experiences that enable those at the margins of society to contribute positively to their communities. It leads the field in using comedy as a tool to support learning and rehabilitation, drawing on its power as an accessible, inclusive and popular medium to create social change. Founded in 1998 , The Comedy School aims to raise the profile of the many uses of comedy, from stimulating personal creativity to encouraging social skills and improving literacy. It achieves this through innovative workshops, performances and arts projects for those who wish to be comedians, to work in the arts and to improve their communication skills and confidence, using comedy to make learning interactive and fun. Their unique way of working has enabled The Comedy School Ltd. to take arts practitioners to many different environments including schools, prisons, traveller sites and excluded communities across the UK. This vital social work would not be possible without The Comedy School Charitable Trust.

The Comedy School Limited is a company limited by guarantee without share capital which is run on a not-for-profit basis. It is the main delivery vehicle for The Comedy School Charitable Trust.

The Comedy School Ltd. Board Memebers: Professor David Clutterbuck, Roma Hooper, Judith Jacob, Venice Johnson and Olivia Landsberg.

Support us

If you'd like to support The Comedy School Charitable Trust just click the links below:

Start fundraising Make a donation Make a monthly donation Donate your stuff